Imo: Gov. Ihedioha Suspends LGA Chairmen, Vice, Councillor, And Appointees

The new government of Hon. Emeka Ihedioha has taken a controversial but necessary step to stabilize his area of jurisdiction in his state. Though, many have criticised such kind of step that is usually take by most governors in the country.

Though, the elections of these Chairmen and Councillors and appointement of Permanent Secretaries are usually done to spite the in-coming and set them up for public opinion crisis.

These appointments and elections like many of other sheady steps usually taken by out-going governors to set the in-coming governors up for trouble.



Governor Ihedioha suspends LGA Chairmen, Vice, Councillors, Appointees

…Dissolves ISIEC, Statutory Boards, all Government Agencies.

Governor Emeka Ihedioha CON, has approved the suspension of Chairmen, Vice Chairmen, Councilors and political appointees of the local governments of Imo State and constitution of Interim Management Committees for six months.

The suspension is contained in the instrument signed by the Governor, pursuant to the recommendation made to him by the Imo State House of Assembly.

This is in pursuant also, to the provisions of Sections 4, 5, and 6 of the Local Government Administration (Amendment) law, 2019 and S.73(3) of Imo State Local Government Administration Law No 15 of 2000 (as amended) and all other laws enabling him.

The Governor has set up Interim Management Committees to manage the affairs of each Local Government.

Consequently, the Directors of Administration and General Services(DAGS) of each Local Government have been directed to take over management, pending the confirmation of Interim Management Committees by the State Assembly.

In a similar development, the Governor approved the dissolution and removal of the chairman and members of the Imo State Independent Electoral Commission (ISIEC).

This is following a resolution supported by two-thirds majority of the State Assembly rendered on 6th June, 2019 seeking their removal from office. The action is also in accordance with the provisions of S.7(1) of the Imo State Independent Electoral Commission Law and all other extant laws of the State.


The Commission will be reconstituted in due course to put in place the machinery for conducting a credible election into the local governments.

The Governor further directs that these officers handover to the most senior civil servant in the Commission.

In the over-riding public interest of the state, the Governor also approved the dissolution of all statutory boards, corporations, agencies and parastatals. This is in line with relevant enabling laws of the state.

The chairmen and members are directed to handover to the most senior civil servant in their various establishments.

Chibuike Onyeukwu
Chief Press Secretary to the Governor

June 17, 2019

Subscribe to The Republican News. Advertise with us. Call us for press release, enquiries. Email:, phone: +32466100102, +2348189650279, +3249722046,,

Continue reading

JUST IN: Buhari Swears In 7 Permanent Secretaries |The Republican News


From: Juliana Taiwo-Obalonye, Abuja

President Muhammadu  Buhari, on Wednesday, swore in the remaining seven Permanent Secretaries that were among the 22 directors that passed the promotional examination and appointed, in August.

The brief ceremony took place before the commencement of the Federal Executive Council (fec) meeting, presided over by him.

Fifteen of the Permanent Secretaries were, on August 15, sworn in by Yemi Osinbajo when he acted as president while President Buhari was on medical vacation in the United Kingdom.

The swearing in of the top civil servants was to fill the vacancies created in the agencies of government.

Those sworn in are Mustapha Suliaman (Kano), Adekunle Olusegun Adeyemi (Oyo),  Mrs. Ekaro Chukwumogwu (Rivers), Adedayo Akpata (Ekiti), Abdulkadri Muazu (Kaduna), Osuji Ndubusi (Imo) and  Bitrus Nabasu (Plateau).

The newly sworn in Permanent secretaries would resume duty when their colleagues from their states, currently in service, retire.

They were among the final 58 names that were forwarded to Osinbajo for appointment at the time.

Their appointment followed a week-long  rigorous examination of  300 Federal Directors at Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs).

The change in policy for the Federal Permanent Secretaries  to write examinations was part of the resolutions of the National Council on Establishment (NEC) held July 2016 in Minna, Niger State.

Over 200 of the 300 Directors earlier shortlisted for interviews and verification for the 21 vacant positions of Federal Permanent Secretaries failed to scale the hurdle for the final stages of the exercise.

About 100 scaled the verification of credentials, stage where 78 that scaled through sat for the  “Information and Communication Technology (ICT) Assessment Test” held at the Digital Bridge Institute (DBI) Utako, Abuja.

The 78 successful Directors had proceeded to written examination stage that was held at the National Defence College (NDC) auditorium, in Abuja. The examination was on “Relevant Public Service and Policy Issues”.

The successful ones then proceeded to the third and final level; the “Oral Interview/Interactive Session” at the Office of the Head of the Civil Service of Federation, in Abuja, from where only 58 of them made it.  (The Sun)

Continue reading